2015 - Rich In Love

RICH IN LOVE transport the listener through lustful encounters, remorse-laden retrospectives, and forlorn longing, while the music takes influences from blues, country rock and roots. And then there is the playing, where every guitar pluck, bass note, subtle drum sweep or organ solo from this consummate musician and his band adds to the stories. It is a truly captivating package, a polished roots diamond, a treasure to reflect on and restore the soul. “While the music on my new album covers a lot of influences, I still think of myself as a blues player, whatever I’m doing,” says Linden. - ( forward written by CBC Music)

Buy Now On iTunes 
Physical Copy on Amazon

Rich in Love tracklist:

1. Knob & Tube

2. I Need Water

3. Delia Come For Me

4. The Hurt

5. Everybody Ought To Be Loved

6. Rich In Love

7. Date With The Stars

8. And Then You Begin

9. No More Cheap Wine

10. Luck Of A Fool

11. I Made A Promise

12. Paybacks Are Hell


The new CD marks a return to the same label that released Colin’s first studio album, The Immortals, in 1986, and also represents his first new studio recording since From the Water in 2009. Colin Linden’s last album was a live recording released in 2011. To stream an exclusive preview of the album on CBC Music, Click here!

Sporting a beautiful cover designed by Jim Sherraden of Nashville’s famed Hatch Show Print, Rich in Love was produced, recorded and performed by Colin Linden (guitars, vocals, ukuleles and mandolins) and his band, affectionately known as The Rotting Matadors: John Dymond on bass and Gary Craig on drums.

Special guests include multiple Blues Music Award-winner and six-time Grammy nominee Charlie Musselwhite on harmonica, legendary keyboardist Reese Wynans (Stevie Ray Vaughan), Amy Helm (Levon Helm, Ollabelle) on harmony vocals and organist Tim Lauer (Rodney Crowell, Keb’ Mo’, Allison Moorer, Lady Antebellum).

The 12 all-original songs on Rich in Love were written by Linden, solo or in tandem with other writers such as his wife, Janice Powers (a published novelist), band member John Dymond and Grammy winners Gary Nicholson and Tom Hambridge.

About the songwriting process for the new CD, Linden says, “I felt like so much has changed since my last studio album in 2009. It was as if I was writing from a different place for these songs. At some point I even began to suffer from insomnia, and several of the songs were composed literally in the middle of the night, such as “Date with the Stars.’